Announcing the 2012 ASES Awards

Women in Solar Energy Award Winner Heather Andrews
Women in Solar Energy Award Winner Heather Andrews

There were many outstanding nominations this year for ASES’ Annual Awards. The 2012 winners include the head of GreenEnergy Ohio (GEO), an outstanding educator, an advocate of women in solar energy, a researcher focused on energy conscious building design, a solar adobe expert, an architecture graduate student and a posthumous award to an unrelenting solar power advocate.

The winners will be honored at the Gala Awards Banquet alongside keynote addresses by Dennis Dimick, Executive Environment Editor for National Geographic and former Governor Bill Ritter. This event will be held onTuesday March 15 at WREF 2012. We’d love you to join us for an evening of enlightening presentations and  celebration of the achievements of all our honorees.

Charles Greeley Abbot Award
William Spratley for his dedication to education resulting in widespread knowledge of renewable energy and energy efficiency to both businesses and individuals.

Hoyt Clarke Hottel Award
Frank Kreith, for his innovative thinking that spurred many technology advancements. He has publicly promoted solar energy for decades while inspiring generations of young engineers.

Women in Solar Energy Award 
Trudy Forsyth, for her promotion and education of women in the renewable energy industry. She is a renowned expert in wind energy, and attributed to reinvigorating interest in its distributed applications.

Heather Andrews, who was an unrelenting force of support and advocacy for solar energy. While her presence is dearly missed, the consequences of her work will never go unnoticed.

2012 Passive Solar Pioneer Award
Edna Shaviv, who for over the last 40 years has created software, integrated ideas on community design, and initiated research in the United States and in Israel changing the way buildings perform.

Mark Chalom, for a 35-year commitment to creating a living legacy of sun dwellings, passive solar and sustainable buildings. He has influenced generations as a teacher, researcher, architect, public speaker, builder and activist.

2012 John and Barbara Yellot Award
 Sara Motamedi, for her outstanding graduate work integrating energy and daylighting simulations at the first stage of architectural design.

Share on FacebookShare on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisEmail this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *