Leadership in Solar Architecture and Design Award

(Formerly Passive Solar Pioneer Award)

The awards banquet was held August 6, 2019 at ASES SOLAR 2019 at the Crowne Plaza AiRE in Minneapolis.

The American Solar Energy Society has established this award for passive solar pioneers. It honors those in the passive field whose work has set the stage for others to follow. Honorees are men and women who developed the theories, research efforts, new concepts, and opportunities for later researchers to expand. Their foresight, innovative thinking, and creativity opened the doors for others.

Nominations are invited for distinguished members of the passive solar field meeting the following requirements:

  1. The nominee must be a true pioneer in the field of passive design. His/her contributions must have been responsible for the creation and development of significant ideas, theories, and concepts in the field. His/her original thinking and research provided the beginning of later theories and development.
  2. No geographical limitations are imposed, nor must nominees be members of the society.

Passive Pioneer Winners

2019 David Panich

2018 Walter Grondzik

2017 Alison Kwok
2016 Jonathan Hammond
2015 Marc Schiler
2014 Mr. Donald Watson
2013 Bruce Brownell
2012 Mark Chalom, Pioneering architect and Edna Shaviv, computer-aided architectural design tool.
2010  Richard Levine, University of Kentucky
2009  Baruch Givoni, UCLA
2008  David Wright, Grass Valley, California
2007  Harvey Bryan, Arizona State University
2006  Malcolm Wells, Brewster, Massachusetts
2005  Steven Paul Badanes, University of Washington
2004  David A. Bainbridge, Alliant International University
2003  Ralph Lewis Knowles, University of Southern California
2002  Donald Prowler, Donald Prowler & Associates
2001  Murray Milne, University of CA, LA
2000  Pliny Fisk III, Ctr Max Potential Building Systems
1999  Robert Keller, Kalwall Corporation
1998  Bill and Susan Yanda, New Mexico
1997  John Reynolds, University of Oregon
1996  Ken Haggard and Polly Cooper, San Luis Obispo Solar Group, California
1995  Anne Dunning, SOLARCON, Santa Fe, New Mexico
1994  Edward Mazria, Albuquerque, New Mexico
1993  Phil Niles, CalPoly University at San Luis Obispo
1991  Native Americans
1990  Bruce Anderson, Earth Day, USA
1989  Steve Baer, Zomeworks Corp.
1988  Norman B. Saunders, Weston, Massachusetts
1987  John I. Yellott, Arizona State University
1986  Harold Hay, California
1985  Jeffrey Cook, Arizona State University
1984  J. Douglas Balcomb, Los Alamos National Laboratory
1983  Peter Van Dresser, New Mexico
1982  Wendell Thomas, Celo, North Carolina
1981  Loren Neubauer, Davis, California
1980  Albert Dietz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1979  George and Fred Keck

Questions? Contact David Comis at awards@ases.org.

Switch Language »