ASES Technical Divisions are comprised of ASES Business, Professional and Life members with similar interests who network and exchange information.

Divisions Chair: Seeking Chair
Email: crixham@ases.org

Division Activities Include

  • Publishing newsletters
  • Organizing webinars
  • Conducting an annual meeting of their members in conjunction with the National Solar Conference
  • Providing technical expertise to Conference Technical Review Committees
  • Keeping members informed of the latest developments in their area(s) of interest through their individual websites

Current ASES Divisions

Photovoltaics Division
Chair: Seeking Chair
Email: crixham@ases.org
Includes direct energy conversion of the sun’s rays to electricity including photovoltaic (PV) energy technology, concentrating photovoltaic (CPV), and photovoltaic thermal technology (PV/T) that captures heat off the back side of PV, cooling them, thus making more electricity.


Solar Buildings Division
Chair: David Panich
Email: Davidpanich@yahoo.com
Passive solar heating and cooling, daylighting, Building Integrated Photovoltaics (BIPV), site design, building design tools and case studies.


Solar Thermal Division
Chair: Ron Gehl
Email: Rgehl@eosresearch.com
Concerned with methods and processes which utilize solar flux for heat driven applications. Includes solar ponds, desalination of water, agricultural drying, process heat for industry, photo-enhanced processes (hazardous waste treatment), high temperature solar enhanced processes (water decomposition to form hydrogen), materials processing (high tensile strength fiber production by chemical vapor deposition), solar pumped laser, district heating and cooling, and solar cookers.


Grid Modernization Division
Chair: Seeking Chair
Email: crixham@ases.org
This new ASES Technial Division will focus on the municipal grids, national connections, microgrids, and storage Grid modernization can deliver energy with more reliability and security, handling variable renewables like wind and solar power. The grid infrastructure must be updated to increase resilience and adapt to the changing sources of energy. It can spread economic opportunity in rural and urban communities through electricity and transportation infrastructure investment and upgrades. This Division encourages research and education in the field, and promotes widespread development and use of renewable energy, with an emphasis on residential-scale applications.


Resource Assessment Division
Chair: Jan Kleissl
Email: Jkleissl@ucsd.edu
The development, acquisition, and forecasting of solar radiation resources and dissemination to the end user.


Energy Economics Division
Chair: Bill Ellard
Email: bellard@yahoo.com
Promotes renewable energy economics and choices that could affect the efficiencies of the energy markets. Of particular focus is solar, distributed generation (DG), existing energy sources, demand side management (DSM), smart grid technologies, and intelligent software to guide the powerful new grid of the future. Reshaping our energy economy to bring free market principles into energy markets helps to create new jobs and accelerates aggregate demand in our economy.


Sustainability Division
Chair: John Essig
Email: jessig@ases.org
Promotes the development, exchange, and use of information on the multiple environmental and societal benefits of renewable energy combined with energy efficiency and conservation.

Policy Division
Chair: Achyut Shrestha
Provides information on local, state, and federal policy as it relates to solar energy and the renewable energy landscape.
Solar Today magazine has archives on the development and history of the renewable energy industry. For more technical content, visit our friends at Home Power magazine (now out of publication) for 30 years of archives of technical renewable energy articles.

Switch Language »